DROITWICH GOLF CLUB
Golf has been played at Droitwich since 1897 when the original nine hole course was laid down on Bays Meadow. The legendary golf course designer James Braid was commissioned to redesign and extend the course and in November 1923 Lord Cobham laid the first sod of the eighteen hole course.
The clubhouse has been sympathetically extended and improved over recent years and houses changing rooms and a spike bar on the ground floor. Upstairs provides the club Lounge Bar and Restaurant with fine views over the eastern part of the course.
A notable landmark, the Chateau Impney with its beautiful classic French style architecture was built by the clubs first Chairman John Corbett. Known as the Salt King, he built the Chateau as a present to his beautiful French Wife in 1875.
He had the Corsican Pines planted on Green Hill, the highest point of the golf course, to improve the views from the Chateau.
From the top of Green Hill, on a fine day, the surrounding hills of Malvern, Clee and Lickeys can be seen.
Further information on the fascinating history of Droitwich Golf Club can be found in a book written by John Bromhead entitled Droitwich Golf Club 1897 – 1997
The course has seen significant tree planting in recent years and provides a good test of golf for all abilities.
Par 70 – 5809 yds.
Westford House, Ford Lane, Droitwich, WR9 0BQ